Carol Cameron is an enrolled member of the Minnesota White Earth Chippewa Tribe and primary founder of the Wisconsin Inter-Tribal Pink Shawl Initiative. She has worked diligently for thirteen years to educate American Indian women on the importance of regular breast health screenings and good breast health habits in hopes of reducing the incidence of breast cancer in the Native Community. Currently, American Indian women have the second-lowest five-year breast cancer survival rate of any ethnic group.

A breast cancer survivor herself, Carol shares her culture and forges ahead helping to bridge the gap between academia and the American Indian Community. Her involvement in Wisconsin’s key breast cancer organizations is impressive. She has built strong working relationships with the Wisconsin Pink Shawl Initiative and – the Wisconsin Well Woman Program, the American Cancer Society, Susan G. Komen, United Voices, the Wisconsin Breast Cancer Task Force, the Wisconsin Comprehensive Cancer Control Program, the Wisconsin Cancer Council, Gerald L. Ignace Indian Health Center and, of course, ABCD: After Breast Cancer Diagnosis.

The Oldenburg Family together with ABCD: After Breast Cancer Diagnosis is pleased to honor Carol with the 2020 Melodie Wilson Oldenburg Visionary Award.

Melodie Wilson Oldenburg Visionary Award

The Melodie Wilson Oldenburg Visionary Award, presented by ABCD: After Breast Cancer Diagnosis, recognizes and celebrates individuals who demonstrate passion, leadership and determination while working to provide hope, confidence, and support for people impacted by a breast cancer diagnosis.

The award was created by Melodie’s family, friends, and colleagues at ABCD to continue her legacy and founding vision of building highly personal connections so that no one goes through breast cancer alone. Nominees do not need to have a direct connection to ABCD but do need to have demonstrated positive impact specifically in breast cancer.

The honoree will be recognized at ABCD’s Annual Celebration, Date with a Plate, on Saturday, May 16, 2020, in Milwaukee.

Click Here to Learn More

Past Award Winners:

2019 Award Recipient

Kathleen Harris

2018 Award Recipient

Dr. Judy Tjoe